Keynote Speakers 
Prof Susanne Lackner

Professor at the Technische Universität Darmstadt, Chair of Wastewater Engineering, Institute IWAR
Susanne has long-term experience with biofilm research, eps biofilm reactors for nitrogen removal. She has worked extensively with MABRs and MBBRs for partial nitritation and anammox; her reactor work also includes granular systems (anammox and aerobic granules). Aside from her work around reactor operation and optimization, Susanne’s research has also focused on the basic understanding of microorganisms and their interactions in biofilms by using advanced molecular tools, biofilm imaging and mathematical modeling.    
Prof Robert Nerenberg

Rob obtained his B.S. in Civil Engineering from the University of Buenos Aires, Argentina, in 1990. He worked as an environmental engineering consultant for eight years, and obtained his Ph.D. from Northwestern University in 2003. After a brief postdoctoral position at Northwestern University, he joined the department of Civil Engineering and Geological Sciences at the University of Notre Dame in 2004. In 2010, he received the National Science Foundation CAREER award for his research on biofilm processes. In 2012, he was the recipient of the Paul Busch award from the Water Environment Research Foundation.

Kim Sorensen 

Kim is well known as one of the world’s leading  Biofilm experts in Full Scale plant. In his previous role as an Expert with Veolia, Kim worked with Biofilm based technologies such as Biostyr, (Submerged Aerated Filter), MBBR, and Media attached Anamox. Currently with WABAG Group his work with Bifoilm Technologies continues and has expanded to include Aerobic Granules. His work also includes other wastewater treatment  processes  and waste water modelling.

Rene Rozendal

CTO at Paques
Rene is currently CTO at Paques, Netherlands, Leaders in Biological Wastewater and Gas treatment. Rene has spent his career involved in Research and Process development with a special emphasis on environmental biotechnology.

Prof Eveline Volcke 

Professor in Biosystems Control at Ghent University. 
Eveline graduated as a Chemical Engineer (1999) and obtained a PhD in Environmental Technology (2006) from Ghent University. In 2007, she took up a EU Marie Curie fellowship at the Laboratory of Environmental Biotechnology, INRA, France. Her research is focused on efficient and sustainable process design and control, applying a combination of physical-based modelling and experimental techniques. Particular examples concern innovative biological nitrogen removal processes, greenhouse gas emissions from wastewater treatment processes and granular sludge reactors. Eveline is a Fellow of the International Water Association (IWA). 

Prof. Jurg Keller

Prof Jurg Keller is the Chief Research Officer of the CRC for Water Sensitive Cities, a large industry-research collaboration supported by the Australian Government and over 80 participants. He is also the Deputy Director Research of the Advanced Water Management Centre at the University of Queensland, an internationally leading research centre he founded 20 years ago. He is one of the inaugural IWA Fellows and was 2012 elected as Fellow in the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. He is also the 2013 Water Professional of the Year, awarded by the Australian Water Association.He has over 25 years experience in water industry research, particularly in biological wastewater treatment, environmental biotechnology, bioelectrochemical systems and resource recovery concepts. His academic impact has been remarkable with over 250 journal publications, attracting over 16,000 citations to date. Equally important, he has been highly successful in combining leading edge research and development activities with effective industry-relevant collaborations. His close working partnerships with many major water utilities in Australia and internationally (including PUB) have resulted in many beneficial outcomes for the industry and the researchers involved.